Tags

, , ,

OH MY!  Tempting indeed!

*****

tristan_finalTempting Tristan

Harborside Nights Series #3

by Melissa Foster

Releasing October 19, 2016

EverAfter Romance

Blurb:

Fresh off the heels of yet another bad relationship, Tristan Brewer is taking a break from men to try and figure out where he keeps going wrong. He knows his biggest fault—he leads with his heart, not his head—and that’s never going to change. But after several introspective weeks, he’s beginning to get a handle on things. That is, until badass heartthrob Alex Wells walks into his bar…

Alex has spent eight years in the Army, months in a hospital bed, and far too long hiding his sexual identity. He’s guilt-ridden, damaged, pissed off, and up for a Silver Star—for the incident that nearly cost him his life, and kept him from his grandmother’s funeral. But all he wants to do is forget his stint with the institution that allows but doesn’t necessarily accept, and live the life he’s always dreamed of.

The chemistry between Tristan and Alex ignites from the moment they meet, and the more time they spend together the hotter the flames become. But the closer Tristan gets, the more Alex’s walls go up, and when the two walk onto a military base, Tristan finds out Alex’s physical scars aren’t the ones that run the deepest.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24779486-tempting-tristan

Buy Links:      Amazon | B & N | Google | iTunes | Kobo

*****

Excerpt:

“Can I ask you something? You don’t have to answer.”

Tristan shrugs. “Have at it.”

“Why were you taking a break? I get that your ex was a prick, but is there more to it?”

He looks down the street, across the street, and then his hand cruises through his hair as it has so often that I’ve already come to expect it when he’s nervous.

“Ian was a prick, but the rest is going to make me sound like a pussy,” he admits.

“I’ve only known you a day, and I already know nothing can make you sound like a pussy.”

He meets my gaze, and his jaw tightens. He lifts his chin and I recognize the struggle between feeling proud and worrying about looking weak. I fight that battle on a daily basis.

“I give away my heart too easily, and I end up getting hurt.”

His eyes never leave mine, and that trust, that confidence, is the sexiest thing I’ve ever seen.

“I was right. Nothing can make you sound like a pussy.” I slide my hand to the hard ridge of his jaw and lean in closer. “I’ve never given my heart away. That makes you braver than me.”

*****

tristan_teaser2

Review:

I’ve seen a lot of Melissa Foster’s books floating around but for some reason not only have I never read one I’ve not even featured one on this site before.  Even better, I have another one I’m reviewing in November – so I went from none to two in about a month  🙂  She’s very popular (and very good) and has done quite a few tours so I have NO idea how I’ve missed her up to this point.  But I have to say I’m glad I finally wised up!

Not having read any of Foster’s books I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the characters are very well done.  Tristan may be a little more overtly emotional than Alex but both of them feel deeply and they also each have their own issues they have to overcome.  Wearing his heart on his sleeve has left Tristan a little battered.  While spending almost a decade in the military, hiding his sexuality, has left scars both inside and out for Alex.  But together they find ways to heal and move forward, growing individually and as a couple.

Some aren’t going to like the insta-love thing, but I think that Foster handles it well and, even though it is fast, it progresses in a believable manner.  They spend a lot of time together and have a connection thru Alex’s grandmother that helps bind them even more.  They are good at filling in the spaces the other needs – propping each other up and providing support when it is needed.  It’s an equal thing between them, as each of them have moments of weakness and strength.

I have to admit that I was a little amused by some of the interactions between Tristan and Alex.  One of them mentions a “sword” and it got me snickering but then I realized that while I don’t know that many gay men (and those I do aren’t all that vocally demonstrative) I do know guy’s guys and I can see them doing something similar.  You have to be OK with a little blue talk and off-kilter humor but as Foster brings you closer to the guys it just works for their relationship.

You also have to be good with some very steamy m/m bedroom sequences (and anywhere else they find themselves in the mood).  You should know what you are getting by the description, plus the insta-love is usually first based on insta-attraction, but just know that Foster doesn’t pull any punches.  Tempting Tristan is hot and sexy and emotional.

Wonderful characters.  A story with angst and growth but not a whole lot of drama.  Easy-to-read writing.  All of it adds up to quite an enjoyable read.  And I can’t wait to see if Foster’s next book in my TBR pile is as good  🙂

(Even though this is part of a series it can easily stand on its own.)

*****

mel-author-photo-headshot400Author Info:

Melissa Foster is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling and award-winning author. She writes sexy and heartwarming contemporary romance, new adult romance, and women’s fiction with emotionally compelling characters that stay with you long after you turn the last page. Melissa’s emotional journeys are lovingly erotic, perfect beach reads, and always family oriented.

Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

*****

Giveaway:

Win a Print Copy of TEMPTING TRISTAN

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/521ac4c81143/

*****

Click on the banner below to check out the rest of the tour

blogtour_tristan

