Tags

, , ,

cover90351-mediumWinning the Billionaire

A Seattle Bachelors Novel

by JM Stewart

In the tradition of E.L. James and Sylvia Day comes a sultry new series starring women who want to live out their wildest dreams . . .

When it comes to love, this billionaire is all business . . .

Software mogul Christina McKenzie has loved billionaire Sebastian Blake since they were kids. So when Seattle’s most famous bachelor-and perennial playboy-finally asks Christina out, her fantasies kick into overdrive. Things become hot and heavy . . . but what’s she supposed to do when she starts to fall for him? Sebastian’s never been one to settle down, and Christina knows she’s just another notch in his bedpost.

Sebastian knows that smart, kind Christina deserves better than him. But after the mind-blowing night they just shared, he’s ready to turn a sexy fling into the real deal. Keeping his freedom is one thing, yet keeping Christina in his bed-and in his life-is all Sebastian can think about . . .

The sibling’s best friend trope is one of my favorites and Stewart handles it so very well.  I appreciate that things aren’t drawn out overlong – yes, it’s been simmering for years, but once the cats out of the bag things get rolling quickly.

Sebastian has issues with relationships, thanks to his parents, so he’s already hesitant to get involved with Christina.  Add in that she’s his best friend’s twin, that they all practically grew up together, and it makes a complicated situation even worse.  But the death of his father has him experiencing all sorts of emotions and he lets down his walls, acting on his feelings … which could be the best or worst thing he’s ever done 🙂

Having been burned by a player in the past, Christina’s not too anxious to let down her guard with commitment-phobic Sebastian.  And she’s gotten real good about hiding the depth of her feelings for him.  But when he starts with the full force of his attentions on her, continuing to resist gets harder and harder.

I love these two together – they’ve got the history of decades of friendship, mixed in with repressed feelings now let out, it’s a chemical reaction just waiting to go off.  But they never truly forget the love and respect they have for each other.  Even in denial or full-fledged retreat, they still have that basis to work with.

(Story is part of a series but can stand on its own.)

Advertisements