Tags

, ,

I’m so happy to welcome Rue today as she answers a few questions and gives us a look at It’s Not My Favorite, the first book in The Lake Effect Series.

This series is getting some fantastic reviews on Amazon so check out the below and then go get your own copy … I think that it’s free on Amazon right now, better hurry!

*****

*What do you like best about writing romances?

I enjoy the way the characters reveal themselves. I love the surprises that aren’t in my outline! I’m an outliner, not a pantser—but I happily take the twists and turns the characters throw at me during the writing process. The outline gives me a support system and a plan to fall back on, if the characters decide to play hard-to-get. I get very attached to my characters while I’m writing and I tend to cry (while writing) when bad things happen to them. I know they have to struggle to achieve what they want, but I feel their pain. Of course, I also feel excited for them when they pull off the impossible or have just the right comeback to the antagonist. There are a lot of voices in my head and it’s great to get some of them out of there and onto the page!

*What is your favorite romantic story (movie/book, fact/fiction)?

Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman – I love the way the sisters support each other in finding their individual happiness. I know this is not a typical romantic story, but the bond between the sisters is ultimately what helps each of them succeed. Sometimes we need someone who supports us AND calls us on our bullsh*t.

*If you could be any romantic character, who would it be and why?

“Vianne” from Chocolat by Joanne Harris. First and foremost because I would get to make and eat chocolate! However, I love the magic in that story and the relationship between Vianne and her daughter. I’m a sucker for strong women who buck the system and stand up for themselves (and family).

*Which of your characters/books was the most fun to write?

The third book in The Lake Effect Series – Finally My Favorite. It was exciting and rewarding to “wrap” up my favorite character’s storylines. I started the series being more attached to Gwenn, but by book three I was really feeling the love for Rachel. Having said that, I don’t think I will ever get over my deep appreciation for Todd. He is a minor character, but his wit and efficiency are quite close to my heart!

*If you weren’t a writer and could be anything you want, what would it be?

An angel.

*****

It's Not My Favorite-AW2_EbookIt’s Not My Favorite

Book 1 of The Lake Effect Series

by Rue

Blurb:

“An irreverent, modern-day, romantic comedy.”

The Hutchinson sisters grew up under the piercing, pious stare of a preacher’s wife. Plagued by her ever-disappointed refrain, “Well, it’s not my favorite.” Their search to find their own way in the world has not been a screaming success.

Gwenn is a good girl, a responsible girl…a miserable girl. Her steady diet of vivid fantasies is the only part of her life she enjoys. She daydreams of new parents, a more exciting job and an actual love life. She struggles to run a business as The Organizer, while she stacks relationship carcasses in the closet of her own completely unorganized life. Her only real friend is her younger sister, Rachel.

Rachel is outgoing, risqué and happily gay. The only people who don’t know this little secret are her judgmental parents, Pastor Ed and Shirley. Rachel struggles mightily to dodge her mother’s constant attempts to set her up with “nice Christian boys”; while holding down a job at the bakery and keeping up with her rock-star girlfriend!

Gwenn uncovers a photo that brings her imaginary world careening into reality. She’s forced to ask herself if wealthy artist, Daniel Gregory is the answer she’s been seeking or a grand delusion.

Break-ups, meltdowns, family secrets, wild nights and finally a journey of self-discovery to exotic New Zealand keep Gwenn and Rachel stumbling toward independence.

So grab your parka and join the Hutchinson girls, as they experience the Lake Effect in Duluth, Minnesota!

iBooks – https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/its-not-my-favorite-lake-effect/id1065597046?mt=11

Smashwords – https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/589136

Kobo – https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/it-s-not-my-favorite-the-lake-effect-series-book-1

B&N – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/its-not-my-favorite-rue/1119403830?ean=2940152506235

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Its-Favorite-Lake-Effect-Book-ebook/dp/B00KMHFW04/

*****

Music can have such a deep impact and I love the idea of getting that little inside peek with a Playlist – check out Rue’s soundtrack for It’s Not My Favorite.  There’s a lot of great music here!

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL58rl-VV_qmBtweIirLhw2FJdYKv7dAUF

*****

Author Info:

Rue is an award-winning fiction author and reads voraciously. Her best friends have always been characters from her beloved books; and this love of reading led to a lifelong passion for writing.

Rue wrote her first manifesto at age three, a letter begging her grandfather to stop smoking. A note scrawled on a small pink piece of stationary, where she taped two dimes, and a nickel—his reward for quitting. The entreaty was successful and the power of the pen was instilled in her soul. Throughout her life she has written unceasingly, journals, poems, short stories, screenplays, and articles for newspaper and magazine. Her love of ink led her to pursue a B.A. in Journalism from Pepperdine University in California. She also suffers from a slight obsession with office supplies—mostly pens and fine paper.

She has already amassed two lifetimes of experience. Rue has been working for more than 30 years and has done everything from make dirt to run an independent film school. The number of characters that can be scooped out of the detritus is staggering.

The pen is truly mightier than the sword—and much more flexible.

 

http://ruescorner.com/

https://www.facebook.com/itsnotmyfavorite

https://twitter.com/ItsNotMyFavorit

@ItsNotMyFavorit

https://www.pinterest.com/itsnotmyfavorit/

https://www.youtube.com/user/RuesCorner

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/527159.Rue

*****

The Lake Effect Series - Promo 3

 

