Tags

, , ,

25317360My Kind of Wonderful

A Cedar Ridge Novel

by Jill Shalvis

UNEXPECTED AND UNDENIABLE . . .

Bailey Moore has an agenda: skiing in the Rockies, exploring castles in Europe, ballroom dancing in Argentina. Now that she has a second lease on life, she’s determined not to miss a thing. What she doesn’t realize is that item #1 comes with a six-foot-one ski god hot enough to melt a polar ice cap. She doesn’t want to miss out on him either, but Hudson Kincaid isn’t the type of guy to love and let go. And as gorgeous as Cedar Ridge is, she’s not planning to stick around.

As head of ski patrol at his family’s resort, Hud thinks he’s seen it all. But never has he run into someone like Bailey. She might look delicate, but her attitude is all firecracker. And her infectious joy touches something deep within him that he’s been missing far too long. Now he’ll just have to convince Bailey to take a chance on her biggest adventure yet . . . something rare and all kinds of wonderful.

I really got caught up in the Kincaids when I read Second Chance Summer and I remember not caring which of the siblings was next because I knew I was going to read their story whoever it was.  But I do have to say that I am SO tickled that it is Hud.  He is such a rascal that having him meet his match is extra fun.

And this story is fantastic!  It is one of those slow burns as we get to know both of them while at the same time they are getting know each other.  As to be expected, they have hang-ups (understandable & realistic ones) that they have to work their way through.

Hud is a great hero – smart, caring, and has taken on so much responsibility.  Unfortunately that also he’s not very good at letting things go and he carries around a lot with him.  His dedication to his mother is absolutely amazing but the guilt over the way his brother left is dragging him down.  And while he doesn’t have time for much more in his life, between his jobs and family, Bailey definitely gets his attention!

I think she is one of my favorite heroines ever and  I so wish I could be more like her (of course without going thru what she did to get there).  She’s got an amazing love of life, tempered with an interesting, straight-forward wisdom.  I think that the HEA moment for her and Hud will go on my list as one of the best I’ve read for a very long time.

On a little of a down side I didn’t feel like the siblings were involved as much as in the previous story.  I think because Bailey has got such a compelling story that maybe there isn’t much room.  Or maybe it was so much like coming home again, after getting to know them so much before, that it was one of those moments where you slipped right in like you never left.  They are just as rowdy & in each other’s business, which I loved so much about them.

If you’ve never read a Shalvis book, this is a FANTASTIC series to start with.  All of the quirky Kincaids and their SOs are delightful – full of mischief and love for one another.  They play hard, work hard, love hard and live hard.  They don’t have things easy but they have each other and I can’t wait to see what Shalvis dreams up for them.

(The next book is about Hud’s twin, Jacob, and since he’s been MIA for years, I’m very interested to find out exactly who he is and what his deal is going to be.)

 

Get your copy at Amazon

