Tags

, , ,

cover74758-mediumWhen We Fall

A Take the Fall Novel

by Marquita Valentine

In the captivating new novel in Marquita Valentine’s Boys of the South spinoff series—perfect for readers of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans—a small-town sweetheart takes a chance on the bad boy who’s always been her hottest fantasy.

The last time Piper Ross saw her best friend’s sexy older brother, Jase Simmons, he was being taken away in handcuffs. Seven years later, two things haven’t changed: Piper is still head-over-heels in love with him . . . and Forrestville’s chief of police—Piper’s dad—still hates his guts. So when Piper sees a chance to get close to Jase, she makes her move—literally. As his new roommate, and as the office manager of his tattoo shop, Piper won’t be satisfied until Jase knows that she wants to be his.

The quintessential good girl, Piper is pure temptation for Jase. The only reason he’s always kept his distance is because she’s the last person he’d ever want to hurt. But once he realizes that Piper is ready to take the leap, everything just makes sense. Suddenly Jase feels like a new man—until nasty rumors start swirling and Piper’s heartless father stirs up even more trouble. Now Jase must convince Piper that she wasn’t wrong about him . . . because falling in love never felt so right.

When We Fall is steamy and fast.  I didn’t even realize how quick a read it actually was until I looked down at one point and was 2/3 of the way thru 🙂

I really liked Piper and Jase.  And I really appreciated that there wasn’t a lot of angst in their relationship.  Piper knew from the get go what she wanted and that was Jase.  She just had to convince him that he actually is the man that she knows him to be.  Jase drags his feet for a bit (and pulled a crap move or two that gave me sympathy pains for Piper) but once he realized they could be together nothing was going to keep them apart.  I love how easily they fit together and how much they supported each other.

I’m not sure what I missed from Take the Fall but I get the idea that at least part of their lead up might be there.  It wasn’t enough to make me confused but I love them so much that I am a little sad that I missed out on any of their romance.

Two people with not-so-great starts in life find that together they can be so much more, leading to a wonderful, feel-good read.

Advertisements