Tags

, , ,

26633250Playing with Fire

Tangled in Texas series

by Alison Bliss

Nothing ignites a fire like the perfect match…

Anna Weber is every inch the proper librarian—old-fashioned, conservatively dressed right down to her tightly clipped flaming red hair. She’s just moved to a small Texas town, and is determined to spend time with her friend before she has to disappear. Relationships aren’t easy for her. She knows too well what it means to be burned. And the last thing she ever wants to do is fall in love…

Especially not with a fireman who’s hot enough to set the entire state of Texas on fire.

Cowboy can’t resist the fiery little librarian, and he’s determined to make her his. Beneath that prim-and-proper exterior is a woman he very much wants to know—if she’d let him. She’ll test his patience. His control. Hell, his very sanity. And for the first time, Cowboy wonders if he’s found the one fire he can’t control…

After doing the blog tour stop for Playing with Fire, I was so hooked that I had to ask the author if she was doing a review tour.  Luckily for me, even though she’d already done one she was kind enough to send me my own copy.  I made the mistake of opening it up just to take a look and, even though I had others I should have been reading instead, I didn’t put it down for 2 days.  That’s how long it took me to read the whole thing because I had my nose buried in it every chance I had – the characters are interesting and the plot is well-paced.  All around a nicely written story.

I get the feeling that Cowboy was well loved in the first book and readers pushed for him to have his own, but not having read Rules of Protection this was my first introduction to him.  And wow what an intro it was.  He’s sexy and charming, smart and caring.  He’s also cocky and a whole lot too sure of his appeal.  I don’t think I ever got a good feeling on why he was against relationships before Anna – usually they have some reason, but his may just have been that he hadn’t needed to settle down before 🙂

Anna has her own issues (quite doozies too) and not the least of which is her insane attraction to overly confident Cowboy.  She’s got reasons for avoiding any kind of entanglement but there’s just something about him that she can’t resist.  I really enjoyed seeing these two dance around each other but end up at the mercy of their feelings.

There’s a little bit of mystery involved that is a nice complement to the romance.  I didn’t expect the ending, which is always nice, and I think that Bliss does a great job of tying everything up with a nice pretty bow.  I’m definitely looking forward to more in this series and I’m gonna have to get my hands on Book 1!

(Buy on Amazon)

