Tags

, ,

cover59709-mediumNot So New In Town

by Michele Summers

Harmony Homecomings

You can’t go back, and you can’t stand still…

Lucy Doolan is a marketing genius. She can sell rain to a frog and snow to a polar bear. Newly single and unemployed, she’s lured back to her hometown of Harmony, North Carolina to help out her pregnant evil stepsister…only to find former crush heartthrob Brogan Reese has returned too, to open a new business in town. To add insult to injury, he’s still hot.

If the thunder don’t get you, then the lightning will…

Brogan never noticed Lucy much when they were young, but seventeen people have recommended her to help him. She’s got his attention now. With her sweet personality, brilliant imagination, and penchant for doing the completely unpredictable, Brogan is finding a whole lot of excuses to spend his days-and nights-with Lucy.

My only complaint about this book is that I’m not sure that Lucy’s issues with her stepsister were ever addressed. I mean they never actually fight, there are little digs and comments, but then suddenly they are supposed to be on good terms? I would have liked to have seen some kind of heart to heart, even if it was a snarky one. Something that would have shown some progression in their relationship and maybe an understanding of where they are coming from. Unfortunately I didn’t feel like we got that.

But I read these for the love story and that part hit it on the head. Small town romances can be so much fun – especially with the humorous cast of characters that you can get in the South. I mean who doesn’t love a sassy best friend who has a pet pig … and not a miniature one 🙂 Actually that is my other complaint. I think that Lucy’s friend Wanda needed her own story, because there is a lot going on there as well. Before I get too far with my complaints I should say that I haven’t read the first book, so I’m not sure if any of this would have been addressed with Find My Way Home. It doesn’t seem like it, because Lucy comes to town after the happenings of book 1, but you never know so I feel like I should throw that out there.

The relationship between Lucy and Brogan, though, is absolutely darling. I loved these two together and their journey is a ton of fun (& funny). With their history and the paths that life has led them down, it makes for an interesting and sometimes difficult attraction. I loved the way that Summers brings them together and the resolution she gives them at the end. It wraps things up beautifully and I smiled when they finally get it all figured out.

