Tags

, , ,

cover39362-mediumA charming wedding novella set in the spring. What will happen when love and wedding plans come together this April?

War changes everything . . . even their love.

Bride-to-be Stella Carson can’t wait to marry her longtime sweetheart Marshall Henderson. But Marshall has been away serving his country and has suffered a head wound. After being diagnosed with post-traumatic disorder, he has distanced himself from Stella, asking her not to visit him in the Washington, D.C. hospital. Marshall returns to Louisiana just four weeks before the wedding, but as the big day draws near, Stella wonders if the man she’s loved for most of her life has become someone else.

Can true love conquer all for Stella and Marshall? Even the tragedy of war?

I don’t know how I would handle the situation Stella finds herself in, but I can guarantee I wouldn’t do half as good of a job as she does.  It’s a rough ride for both of them as Marsh and Stella learn to navigate a world where things aren’t the same as they were before he went to war.  He’s struggling to find his place in the world and she’s trying to figure out if that place includes her.  They have a lifetime of love behind them as well as their faith in God but it doesn’t make it easy. 

An April Bride definitely will tug on your emotions.  Both of them are strong and caring, trying so very hard to do the right thing, but just not knowing what that is.  I found myself being pulled between the two because I had a great understanding of the struggles both of them are going thru and hoping that somehow it all works out.  (Which you know it will because it is a love story but it’s touch and go until the end.)

I love these novellas – all of them I have read have been packed full of good things in just a handful of pages and I’ve been introduced to new authors, like Worth, who are definitely going on my list of go-to authors.  She’s got that perfect mixture of emotion, faith and love, with a little humor thrown in to keep it real.  I’ll definitely be looking at the rest of her booklist. 

If you are looking for something that makes your cry and laugh and root for a happy ending, An April Bride is the perfect choice. 

