Tags

, ,

cover57521-mediumMr. Charles Norris needs help finding a wife…

For he has the unfortunate habit of falling for each Season’s loveliest debutante, only to have his heart broken when she weds another. Surely Lady Marjorie Penwhistle can help him. She’s sensible, clever, knows the ton, and must marry a peer, which he is not. Since she’s decidedly out of his reach, Charles is free to enjoy her refreshing honesty and her unexpectedly enticing kisses…

Lady Marjorie Penwhistle doesn’t want a husband…

At least not the titled-but-unbearable suitors her mother is determined she wed. She’d rather stay unmarried and look after her eccentric brother. Still, advising Mr. Norris is a most exciting secret diversion. After all, how hard will it be to match-make someone so forthright, honorable, and downright handsome? It’s not as if she’s in danger of finding Charles all-too-irresistible herself…

I’m going to do something I rarely do – start off my review with a complaint.  The reason I’m putting it first is because I really like Charles and Marjorie and their romance so I just want to get it out of the way. 

About three quarters of the way thru the book, a side story is thrown in that seemed a bit of an oddity.  It is a pretty important bit so I’m not giving any details but it kinda came out of nowhere and didn’t really seem to do all that much for the story.  Granted there were a couple of things that happened because of it but if this plotline had been in more of the book I think it would have not only been more enjoyable it would also have done more to progress the main story.  Now, I know that all of this is vague but I kinda have to throw it out there because it shook the flow of the book for me and I think it might do the same for others.  The real shame is that I think it could have made a fantastic secondary plot if it had been developed more. 

Now then, with that out of the way I can get to the praise.  I really enjoyed these two together.  They form such a great friendship which develops into so much more.  Together they are fun and sassy and full of life, making a perfect romance that at first seems to be fated to not be but of course you know everything will work out in the end. 

From what I can tell, we’re continuing in a world that has already been created – I found When a Lord Needs a Lady on Amazon, which comes out in February, and I know that couple is featured here.  But the nice thing is that other than some references I didn’t fully understand it didn’t really make a difference. 

Goodger’s writing is quick and witty, her characters are entertaining and realistic, and the romance is both sweet and sexy.  If you like your romances packed full of lords and ladies, The Spinster Bride is a fantastic choice.  A little ill-fated love and some romantic ingenuity blend perfectly to create a decidedly enjoyable love story.   

