Tags

, , ,

cover60841-mediumEnjoy the witty, emotional second book in USA Today bestselling author Erica Ridley’s new Dukes of War regency romance series!

Captain Xavier Grey’s body is back amongst the beau monde, but his mind cannot break free from the horrors of war. His friends try to help him find peace. He knows he doesn’t deserve it. Just like he doesn’t deserve the attentions of the sultry bluestocking intent on seducing him into bed…

Spinster Jane Downing wants off the shelf and into the arms of a hot-blooded man. Specifically, the dark and dangerous Captain Grey. She may not be destined to be his wife, but nothing will stop her from being his mistress. She could quote classical Greek by the age of four. How hard can it be to learn the language of love?

I don’t think I’ve ready any of Ridley’s work (I know I haven’t read any of the Dukes of War books) and I have no idea why not.  They are fantastically written, with great flow and addictive characters.  The story just flew by and I absolutely could not put it down until I was done.

I love, love, LOVE Jane.  My only complaint in the entire book is that we got very little of her interactions with anyone but Xavier.  There is some in the beginning but I would have really enjoyed seeing more of her outrageous behavior with the Ton that ignores her.  She’s such an intriguing character that it would have been great to see her out and about more. 

With Xavier though she is a hoot.  She pokes at him just enough to get him riled; it’s so much fun seeing her try to seduce him.  And the glimpses we get into her character are priceless.  The surprises she leaves him when she goes home are just the perfect capsulation of what kind of person she is – subtle humor, but with a playful streak.  She’s smart, sassy, and sadly overlooked. 

Xavier came back from war with a lot of baggage, but a few days alone with Jane means that his darkest secrets and desires will be brought into the open.  As appealing as she is to readers, she’s even more so to him and closes quarters make her very hard to resist … but it sure is a blast to see him try 🙂

The reasons he’s trying to hide himself away are very emotional, as is his realization that he needs Jane in his life.  His internal battle after Jane leaves is great and I love how Ridley has him declare himself.  It fits so well with the characters she’s given her readers. 

Full of humor and heart, a devil cat and whimsical woodland creatures, a heroine looking to sin and a hero determined to honorably resist, The Captain’s Bluestocking Mistress is a historical romance that can’t be beat.  I highly recommend this book and I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest of the series.

