Tags

, , ,

cover50387-mediumSarah’s known monsters…and John isn’t one.

Sarah’s life isn’t going well. She’s divorced from an abusive jerk, been drugged, stuffed in her trunk and nearly kidnapped. Between that and a harsh winter, it’s almost more than a girl can take. She’s rightly distrusting of any man’s affection, so an ice-skating date with John – who doesn’t seem to feel the cold – isn’t exactly on her bucket list. Yet something about him captures her attention.

John is determined to live as an ordinary mortal. He’s moved into the city, bought a sports bar and works there as the bartender. As a new vampire, he’s never considered dating, until he meets Sarah. Prudence dictates he stay away from her, but everything about her calls to him…right down to her cute animal socks.

Sure, finding out John is a vampire is scary, but Sarah’s learned not all monsters have fangs. Besides, someone else isn’t too happy about their budding relationship. Sarah will have to survive before getting her chance at love.

This is my first book in McKitrick’s Bitten By Love series – I haven’t read My Sunny Vampire – but I actually didn’t realize this was part of a series until I was well into it … and even then it didn’t really make a difference.  I think that maybe I would have understood some of John’s world a little better but then again maybe not.  I got along just fine with what I got here (although now, I’m going to have to add the first book to my TBR file) and I felt like I was given everything I needed to keep up.

Bite Me I’m Yours is another one of those that is more of a contemporary romance with paranormal themes than it is a paranormal romance.  At its heart it is more about the romance between John and Sarah than it is about the fact that John is a vampire – although John’s issues do stem from the fact that this will be his first romantic relationship since he was turned.  Not the easiest of things to tell a potential girlfriend.

But Sarah’s issues are very normal … at least until John’s secret is revealed.  She’s come out of an abusive relationship and it’s left a serious amount of scars.  It will take a patient man to get her to relax and learn to be herself again.  Luckily John’s got a good heart and a lot of time on his hands.  Add in that Sarah’s ex isn’t ready to let her go – and a serial killer to keep things interesting – and readers will be le[t on their toes.

McKitrick does a fantastic job of mixing all of the elements (vampire, abusive past and serial killer) without short-changing anything.  With good flow and interesting characters, Bite Me I’m Yours is good for those in the mood for a little fang with their kisses.

