Tags

,

I’m so thrilled to have gotten the change to ask Kathleen Bittner Roth a few questions.  She was nice enough to give us all a little peek in to her life and her new book.  I love that we get a historical romance that shows us the Brits actually in India, instead of just returning home to England.  Throw in a good dose of intrigue and it looks like a guaranteed winner!

*****

*What do you like best about writing romances? 

I do not plot my stories, I’m what’s called a pantser (I write by the seat of my pants). I really love when a seed of an idea takes root, and then blossoms all on its own. I know I am making this sound like a super easy way of writing, because it takes tough discipline and hours of research to fill in the spaces between the words, not to mention knowing the craft, but there is an underlying excitement in seeing what happens next. Most mornings, I can hardly wait to get to my writing to see what happens to the story and my characters. I love the surprises, especially secondary characters who pop up out of nowhere and end up with their own book. By the way, my stories all contain unexpected twists and turns that the reader doesn’t expect—that’s because I didn’t expect them either! Someone once asked Agatha Christie how she figured out “who done it.” Her response was that she never knew who committed the crime until they did so. I’m rather like that with my stories and that’s the best thing about writing romance for me. I also love a happy ending. I must have that happy ending…life is too full of unhappy endings for me to write them.

*What is your favorite romantic story (movie/book, fact/fiction)? 

For the movies, it’s still Gone With the Wind. For a book, it’s Pride and Prejudice. Not an exciting choice for the book, so it would seem, but truly, who wouldn’t want to end up with Mr. Darcy?

*If you could be any romantic character, who would it be and why? 

Katherine in The Taming of the Shrew. I started reading the classics very early on. There is this lusty, wild chemistry between Kate and Petruchio that had me mesmerized at a very young age. I have never forgotten the impact it had on me. I think it was the first time I actually inculcated the idea of the importance of chemistry between two lovers.

*Which of your characters/books was the most fun to write? 

I honestly have to say that each book I write is my favorite at the time of the writing. The story is like a delicious, savory stew simmering on the stove all day, the anticipation is as good as the final product.

*If you weren’t a writer and could be doing anything else you want, what would it be?

I founded a successful well-being center some years ago. I haven’t given it up entirely so if I wasn’t writing, I would go back and revive it. However, I would definitely add an animal rescue area so I could give some beasts, small and large, a place of well-being as well. Come to think of it, I’d like to have it all…the well-being center, surrounded by animals and people and keep on writing!

*****

ADuke'sKissx500A Duke’s Wicked Kiss

Author: Kathleen Bittner Roth

Release Date: 8/26/14

Genre: Historical Romance

Blurb:

Miss Suri Thurston knows the pain of abandonment. Intent on confronting the grandmother who tossed her to the lions, she travels from England to her birthplace in India. Her plans run afoul when she encounters the man who, ten years prior, left a mark on her soul with one stolen kiss. But he is a duke, and far beyond the reach of even her dreams.

The Duke of Ravenswood, secret head of the British Foreign Service, has no time for relationships. His one goal is to locate and eliminate key insurgents involved in an uprising against the British East India Company before it’s too late. But when Suri appears in Delhi, his resolve is tested as he finds his heart forever bound to her by the haunting kiss they shared once upon a time.

With Suri’s vengeful Indian family calling for her death and insurgents intent on mutiny tearing their world apart, can their love rise above the scandal of the marriage they both desperately want?

Goodreads Book Link: http://bit.ly/DukesWickedKissGR

Amazon Buy Link: http://bit.ly/DukesWickedKissAM

Barnes & Noble Buy Link: http://bit.ly/DukesWickedKissBN

Entangled Page: http://bit.ly/DukesWickedKissEP

*****

Author Info:

Kathleen Bittner Roth creates passionate stories featuring characters faced with difficult choices, and who are forced to draw on their strength of spirit to overcome adversity and find unending love.

Her own fairy tale wedding in a Scottish castle led her to her current residence in Budapest, Hungary, considered one of Europe’s most romantic cities. However, she still keeps one boot firmly in Texas and the other in her home state of Minnesota.

A member of Romance Writers of America®, she was a 2012 Golden Heart® finalist.

You can find Kathleen on Facebook, Twitter: @K_BittnerRoth, Goodreads and Pinterest; among the authors at www.dashingduchesss.com, and www.ghfirebirds.com, or by visiting her website.

Author Website: http://kathleenbittnerroth.com/

Author Blog: http://kathleenbittnerroth.com/blog/

Author Twitter:  @K_BittnerRoth

Author Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kathleen-Bittner-Roth-Historical-Romance-Writer

Author Goodreads:  www.Goodreads.com/katleenbittnerroth

 

