Tags

, ,

You guys don’t know how excited I was to get a copy of this book.  We first met the HORNET guys in SEAL of Honor (where Seth was mentioned but didn’t really make an appearance) and then Seth himself (very quickly) in Wilde Nights in Paradise.  But even with that little peek readers knew that his story was going to be … hard.  Hard and worth every minute.  Check out the book and my review below! 

*****

HR500Honor Reclaimed

by Tonya Burrows

Former Marine scout sniper Seth Harlan is new to HORNET and anxious to prove he can still do his job despite an ongoing battle with PTSD. He remembers all too well what it’s like to sit inside an enemy camp, praying for rescue and waiting for death. So when a black ops soldier contacts HORNET to rescue a buddy who was left behind, all sorts of nasty memories strain his newfound stability.

When an interview with a runaway Afghan child bride leads photojournalist Phoebe Leighton to an arms deal involving a suitcase bomb powerful enough to wipe out a mid-sized town, she realizes this is one battle she can’t win on her own. Forming an unlikely alliance with a ragtag team of military and government delinquents, she meets Seth, a sniper carrying as many emotional scars as physical, who impresses her with his steely will and ignites passions within her she thought long dead.

Suddenly this mission is about a lot more than an abandoned soldier. Racing against the clock, Seth, Phoebe, and the rest of HORNET struggle to stop that bomb before it reaches it’s final destination: The United States.

Goodreads   Barnes & Noble   Amazon

Entangled Select:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EntangledSelect

Twitter: @EntangledSelect

Steals and Deals

*****

Author Info:

Writing has always been my one true love. I wrote my first novel-length story in 8th grade and haven’t put down my pen since. I received a B.A. in creative writing from SUNY Oswego and I’m now working on a MFA in popular fiction at Seton Hill University.

When I’m not writing, I spend my time reading, painting (badly), exploring new places, and enjoying time with my family. Give me a good horror movie over a chick flick any day. (And, let’s be honest, I’ll take a bad horror movie too!) I’m a geek at heart and pledge my avid TV fandom to Supernatural and Doctor Who. I’m also a big fan of The Voice. What can I say? Guilty pleasure.​​

I share my life with two dogs and a ginormous cat. I’m from a small town in Western New York, but I suffer from a bad case of wanderlust and usually end up moving someplace new every few years. Luckily, my animals are all excellent travel buddies.

Website   Blog  Twitter  Facebook   Goodreads   Newsletter

*****

Review:

In Wilde Nights in Paradise, I said that Seth’s story was going to break my heart … I just didn’t realize that it was going to rip it right out of my chest.  I sat glued to the pages, turning them as fast as I could, with my throat clogged up and loving every minute of it.

Seth is troubled, understandably so after months of torture while a POW in Afghanistan, and he is trying his best to find a place for himself in the world.  He’s amazingly strong to have survived everything that happened to him and decide to keep going, but with a lot of issues that he’s letting overwhelm him, so he’s not really thriving.  It’s a difficult thing, trying to fit in again, and his struggles just hurt me.  It’s one of those things that is difficult to read but you feel so engaged in him and his story that you just can’t put it down.

Phoebe is about the only person who understands Seth and he takes comfort in her presences.  But her secret is a pretty big one – one that has impacted both of their lives.  She’s become a better person because of her past and she’s got a huge heart, which might be the only thing to help Seth on his way back to some form of normality.

Like the first HORNET book, SEAL of Honor, we’re giving insights into the other members of the team and some hints at future stories.  Burrowes’ two series (HORNET and Wilde) overlap, so we get a look at some of the Wilde brothers as well.  They are a complex and troubled group, one promising to provide a lot of material for both series.

As long as you are ok with an emotional rollercoaster, Honor Reclaimed is definitely worth the effort.  The ending absolutely slayed me and I think it will be a while before I let that one go, but it was everything I hoped it would be and I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.

*****

Giveaway:

Blanket with her four covers on it + swag

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1cb554366/

*****

Click on the banner below to check out the other stops on the tour

Honor Reclaimed - Banner

