Tags

,

cover43423-mediumEverything’s bigger in Texas, including the problems.

When Vicky flies into Texas, she immediately falls for the charms of local cowboy, Jack Cassidy. However, her wealthy Dallas cousin, Laura, has other ideas and will do everything she can to steer Vicky away from Jack and into the arms of a rich oilman.

Jack is resigned to living the life of a lonely cowboy whose only female company is his horses—that is, until he meets Vicky. However, Vicky isn’t the only person with a claim on his heart. Jack wasn’t always alone and his ex is about to make a dramatic comeback.

Every cowboy has a past and this cowboy’s past is about to destroy his future.

I have to say that while The Texas Cowboy was an enjoyable and quick read, there were a few problems with it. While I really liked Jack and Vicky, Laura wasn’t the easiest person to like. She’s shallow and vain and materialistic. I wasn’t sure if we were supposed to actually feel for her or if she was just meant to be a shiny foil to Vicky’s more down to earth realism. She plays a pretty major part in the book, though, so she’s not easy to ignore but I did like her husband and Jack’s sister. They made excellent compliments to an interesting main couple.

One of the other things I had a little issue with was some of the flow. For the most part it was a small problem and easily overlooked with the quickly moving plot … but then we got to the end. Jack has a pretty big secret and one that kinda threw me for a loop. It’s very understandable for Vicky to be as upset as she is and the resolution seemed a little abrupt and incomplete. I did see a comment somewhere from the author that she is curious if readers would like to see more about Jack and Vicky, so maybe if there is a follow-up story then I’d get the closure I feel like I need.

Overall, I say give The Texas Cowboy a shot. Jack and Vicky are enjoyable and the plot is fun. Once I decided that it was fine that I didn’t care for Laura she became easier to take and there are other characters that are much more entertaining.

