Tags

, , ,

cover41482-mediumHome is where her heart is

When Presley Christensen returns to Whiskey Creek with her little boy after two years away, she has completely changed her life. She’s made peace with her past and overcome the negative behavior that resulted from her difficult childhood. Now she’s back in the small town that was the closest thing to “home” she ever knew—the town where she can be with the sister who’s her only family.

There’s just one catch. Aaron Amos still lives in Whiskey Creek, at least until he moves to Reno to open a branch of the Amos brothers’ auto body shop. And no matter how hard she’s tried, Presley hasn’t been able to get over him. Seeing him again makes the longing so much worse. But she hopes she can get through the next few months, because she can’t fall back into his arms…or his bed. She’s come too far to backslide now. And there’s a secret she’s been guarding—a secret she’ll do anything to protect.

I’m going to say this and it breaks my heart, but I finally found a Whiskey Creek novel that I didn’t like more than the ones that came before it.  I love the idea of this book – that these two could turn their lives around and get their acts together.  And I totally understand why Presley didn’t tell Aaron that he was the father of her son.  And I even understand why Aaron is so confused by the way that Presley is treating him.  And in theory it all should make a really intriguing story … I just didn’t feel it this time.  Maybe I just need to go back and read Dylan and Cheyenne’s story, When Snow Falls, so that I can see how Presley and Aaron’s relationship was then to get a better feel for the way thing play out here.

Unfortunately we spent more time seeing Presley try to push Aaron away that they don’t actually spend quality time together to develop a good, solid relationship.  With just a couple of chapters to go she finally gives them a chance to date as a real couple but that time isn’t described because there are so few pages left.  I wish we’d had a chance to see them have a grown up relationship, I wanted to see Aaron actually develop feelings for Presley instead of being jealous or territorial.  I love the idea of his character so much, I wanted him to have a fantastic romance.

And I’m not sure where this plotline is going, but the side story with Cheyenne is so weird.  I cannot see this ending well for anyone and I’m not sure I understand why it is necessary.  I don’t want to spoil it for anyone that is going to read the story, but if you have to know go check out some of the Goodreads reviews because you’ll find out all about it in 2 seconds.  I’ll reserve judgment until I see what Novak has planned but I really was stunned when it came up.

I will give Novak credit – she is an amazing writer.  I may not have cared for this one but it is very smooth and has good flow.  I’ll definitely be looking for the next one because I know the series itself is fantastic.  And maybe that is the problem, I’m comparing a good story to the great ones that came before it.

